Sauteed Zucchini with Cherry Tomatoes and Basil

Image

I hated zucchini my whole life – all squash for that matter. My boss gave me some huge zucchini from her garden and I had no idea what to do with them but didn’t want to say ‘no thanks’. I decided to mix it with my favorite vegetable- tomato, and my favorite herb – basil, thus starting my obsession with zucchini!

Image

INGREDIENTS:

2 Cups Cherry Tomatoes

2 Medium Zucchini

1/4 Cup Chopped Basil

1 Tablespoon of Butter

2 Chopped Garlic Cloves

1 Teaspoon of Cayenne Pepper

Salt & Pepper to Taste

First chopped the basil, slice the cherry tomatoes in half and the zucchini into 1/4 inch wide slices.

Image

Image

Melt butter on high heat and add the zucchini. Sprinkle with cayenne pepper and garlic.

Image

Sautee for about five minutes until the zucchini is tender and slightly browned.

Image

Add tomatoes until they are heated through, about 3 minutes. And finally add the basil for the final minute.

Image

Now that all the veggies are warm and tender they are ready to serve. This salad can stand alone, or be served along side a protein like my whole grain mustard salmon…

Image

or tossed with pasta. You decide!

Image

2 thoughts on “Sauteed Zucchini with Cherry Tomatoes and Basil

  1. You know your Boss is always right Kelly! Looks delish! I like it with mint also, surprising how those two flavors work together. xx

Leave a Reply

