Out with the Old – In with the New : Reinventing the Kitchen Chair

BEFORE & AFTER

ImageImage

My apartment in New York was around 200 square feet– just enough room for a bed….and well just a bed. When I moved to Los Angeles I needed a lot of furniture fast! It had to be cheap but I also wanted pieces that would last. I found this charming walnut table and chairs for around $300 at Wertz Brothers in Santa Monicahttp://wertzbrothers.com/. They specialize in used furniture and antiques and have very reasonable items and very expensive ones as well. I loved everything about my kitchen dinning set, except the old worn yellow velvet upholstery.

Image

The idea of redoing them myself seemed way over my head, but I decided to try anyway. I found a fun chocolate and magenta fabric that I thought would be fun and got to work.

Image

First I had to take off the old seat cushions, which was easy enough. I just had to unscrew the old screws by hand and pop off the seats.

ImageImage

The next part was more difficult: getting new padding. I decided to cheat a little and brought one of the seats to an upholstery shop where they cut out foam to fit. They also used spray adhesive to bond the foam to some dacron fabric that would help to secure the foam to the seat. I highly recommend this short cut. It saved a lot of time and energy and only cost me $40!

Image

I placed each seat on the foam, tightly wrapped the dacron around the edges and secured it with a staple gun.

ImageImage

After cutting out four squares of the fabric I did the same process of securing it on the seat on fall four sides, leaving the corners for last.

Image

My staples are not that straight- but who cares it’s going underneath!

ImageImage

ImageImage

Once all four seats had their new fabric, I popped them back in the chairs, tightened the screws and was ready for a dinner party!

Image

This project really individualized my kitchen, and made me feel right at home.

Image

Leave a Reply

