Pop of Color : Painting a Wood Dresser

BEFORE

Image

AFTER

Image

Growing up with a mother from New York, and living there for quite some time myself, my favorite color to wear and pair is obviously: black. When I moved back to sunny California I realized my solely black and white room needed a pop of color! I found this old wooded dresser at a thrift store down the street and decided to transform it.

I simply removed the handles and sanded the whole thing down- drawers and all.

Image

I picked out some Tiffany blue paint and painted two coats. To make it look a little shabby, and not so plastic, I took some sand paper to the outer molding. It was a little scary at first – but it was really worth it! After I was happy with the look,  I used a finishing spray to seal it all in.

Image

Once it was all dry I put back the handles.  I kept the originals because I love the antique look – and I had to have a little black!

Image

This entire project took me about 3 hours and completely brightened up my room!

photo-16

One thought on “Pop of Color : Painting a Wood Dresser

Leave a Reply

